Back from too-much-Vegas. I didn’t go for the entire WSOP I just went for two separate shorter visits. I played fewer tournaments than I have in years past and took more days off; it was much more civilized that way.
I’m reasonably happy with my results. I cashed 64th in a WSOP $2500 NLH (1086 runners). I busted out early in a WSOP six-max. I cashed in several side tournaments, the deepest one being 13th in an $1100 Wynn NLH (486 runners if I remember right).
My Main Event wasn’t very satisfying; I busted on day one. There weren’t any specific bad beats or crazy situations; it was just one of those tournaments where you keep making strong hands that turn out to be second-best and you end up having to pay off the value bets. Then of course you eventually get down to the point where you are looking to jam pre and race. My final hand was a truly well-executed trap that got my opponent all-in preflop w/K8 vs my AK, but … well, I did already tell you that it was my final hand. 🙁
At a Venetian cash game we got confirmation that people still don’t understand the rules about when short all-in raises do or do not re-open betting action. The hand went like this post-flop:
- Three Players, A, B, C.
- A bets $45
- B makes it $135 (a raise of $90 over A)
- C pushes all-in for $195 (a raise of $60 over B)
- A calls. He clearly could have raised if he wanted to, as he is facing a total raise of $150 from his initial bet of $45, and of course B’s raise alone re-opened action to A. That’s not the question here, and anyway as it played out he just called.
Now we get to the interesting part. B says “ALL IN”. To review at this point: he had raised to $135 (when facing $45) and now was facing an incomplete raise to $195 from an all-in. The dealer does a quick calculation and says that since C’s all-in, which is not a complete raise, was $60 over the $135, and B’s original raise size (the size of the raise, not the total bet) was $90, that B can raise here because $60 is more than half of $90.
The dealer was misapplying the 50% rule, which is a rule about mistakes (e.g., throwing out $300 if facing a bet of $200) and is not supposed to be used for short all-ins. I’ve written about this before though more from the perspective of TDA rules and tournaments. But this particular rule applies equally in cash games and tournaments.
At this point the dealer incorrectly allows B’s ALL-IN, and player A questions whether that should have been allowed. The dealer reiterates “yes, because over 50%”.
I wasn’t in this hand and I was a little bit conflicted about what the right thing to do at this point was. The rules explicitly say that players should “protect the integrity of the game by pointing out errors that occur” and this is an error, but there’s also a strong sense of “mind your own business” in cash games. I decided that it was likely someone would be upset either way – whether the error was corrected or allowed to stand and so I blurted out: “I don’t believe that’s correct; the rule is it has to be a full raise”.
At which point the dealer recalculated the $90 and $60 deltas and asked me to confirm his ruling because it was more than 50% of the way (if you are paying attention, you will note that this means the dealer didn’t really listen to what I had to say). At this point one of the players in the hand SHOULD have called for the floor, but none of them did. I decided I had made the only factual statement I could make and answered all further questions (there were several) with “I’m not in the hand.”
After a few moments of confusion with a bunch of other players chiming in the dealer did the right thing and called the floor over.
The floors at the Venetian are all pretty good and this one gets it right: Ruling: B cannot raise. The floor reiterated that it takes a FULL raise amount to re-open action; the fact that the $60 incomplete-raise of the all-in is more than 50% of the way “there” was irrelevant.
As the hand played out it turns out none of this really would have mattered either way to the action. It was nice to see a confirmation of the rule in practice, and it was nice that no one in the hand threatened to kill me for sticking my nose into their business. 🙂